Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

12 inch Alpine SWR? JL Audio 12w3v2? Infinity? Image Dyanmics? Help me!!!!

Old 05-03-2004, 01:04 AM
xero-cool

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 12 inch Alpine SWR? JL Audio 12w3v2? Infinity? Image Dyanmics? Help me!!!!

I'm a newbie to car audio so somebody school me on what im missing
Going to power a 12 inch single sub from 2 channels (bridged) off a JBL PX300.4 (300W into 4 ohms bridged)

Question: Should I worry about the 2 voice coils with my config or should I look for a single voice coil sub?

The other 2 channels are going to my front speakers. (Probably Focal PolyGlass or PolyKevlar 6.5")

Rear Speakers are Infinity Kappa Coax powered by my Alpine CDA-9833 HU.

I like clarity and SQ but I also want my lower frequencies to bump. I am also looking for a long lasting sub as I don't want to replace it anytime soon.

Here are the choices im looking at right now....feel free to add something! Budget US160

1. Alpine Type R SWR-1241D $106
2. Image Dynamics IDQ12 D4 V.2 $159.95 (Recommend by rcurley55)
3. JL Audio 12w3v2 $160
4. Infinity Kappa Perfect 12.1 $143

Thanks so much!

Edit: I listen to a lot of Hip Hop Maybe a sub that can play lower frequencies accurately is what I am looking for
Old 05-14-2004, 08:46 PM
wing_zero

dood you know you can use one channel to power both voice coils. im not sure what its called. like parallel wiring or somthing like that. since your bridging your amp i would advise that you check your temp often and if it gets hot you should get a cooling system.

do not cut the wire, after you secure the positive to the sub, using the same wire secure it to the other voice coil of the same sub then to the positive output from the amp. then same with negatives.