Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Whining in speakers.... :(

Old 01-17-2004, 04:18 PM
Fiend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Whining in speakers.... :(

Firstly, I appologize for the lengthy-ness of this post!

Hey guys, I'm new to Honda-Acura.net and new to owning a Honda. I just got a gold 1993 Honda Accord SE. I'm excited about it, and I'm in the process of getting all the little kinks out of the system.

So my first question is... what is it that is making my speakers whine with the acceleration of the car and follow the RPMs. Also, the signal gets stronger when any lights are activated (headlights, blinkers, brakes, etc.).

I have looked around for the past few days on other forums and I decided that you all seem to be knowledgable and could help me out. I have read lots of stuff that it COULD be...
1. Spark plugs/spark plug wires (replaced em; noise remains, but car runs a bit nicer! )
2. Alternator 'noise'. I have yet to understand what this is and how it's a possibility, but I've heard it over forums and by a friend or two....
3. The built-in premium sound amp from Bose.

My guess is since 1 didnt work and I dont understand 2, I was going to try to BYPASS my Amp (but I cant find a wiring diagram ANYWHERE), but I just want to get some other suggestions/comments and maybe one of you has a diagram for me to use to splice the cords in the trunk to bypass the amp so my head unit will just power the speakers, instead of the amp...

I simply don't know... someone help me!!
Old 01-18-2004, 12:41 PM
rgbpmp

It could be a poor ground, either for the radio, or the factory bose amp. Im not to familiar with systems with a factory amp but some times a poor ground can cause noise. Maybe try to find another place by the radio to ground it with some good wire. Strip the paint off the place you use to ground it if you decide to try.