Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Audio noob here with some Q's

Old 11-26-2003, 03:31 PM
lkailburn
college kid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audio noob here with some Q's

Hey guys, i'm pretty much a noob when it comes to really technical parts of car audio. i know the different types of speakers(subs, mids, tweeters) and that sort of stuff, but nothin much past that. Anywho, i think this winter i will be putting some cash towards a good clean quality audio system. My plan was to replace my factory 5 1/2's(already replaced my rear 6x9's), add some flush mounted tweeters in my door panels, and install 1 possibly 2 10" subs in custom boxes in the back.. My question to you guys concerns the tweeters and the subs. For the tweeters, do i use a cross over to install them? if so is there a site i could look at that explains how that works? ....and for the custom boxes, is it true that if i make a fiberglass mold of the sides of my trunk, that the sound waves will cancel each other out(not entirely but enough to notice), due to the different angles of the fiberglass?(the fiberglass mold would be the back of a box. i'd creat the rest with mdf board)

if anyone could help, or send some links explaining my questions i would really appreciate it.. please no flaming....thanks guys

hit me up on aim if oyu want: BananaRpblic4

Luke
Old 11-26-2003, 04:38 PM
rcurley55

This is a pretty generic answer, but it should address your questions properly:

You want to get components for your front doors - no one makes them in 5 1/2" sizes - they will be either 5.25, 6.5, or 7". Generally a honda is 6.5"s