Notices
Track & Autocross Talk lap times and race lines.

CRX Oversteer

Old 06-12-2006, 09:16 AM
parkerfly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CRX Oversteer

I'm still new to the tuning/autox scene. Raced my 1st season last year in a friends eclipse and put together a 91 CRX HF for this year.

I'm running in SM2 because I have the ZC and integra susp/brakes. My car has a lot of oversteer, especially in slaloms. As I'm slowly learning to go into the slaloms at the correct speed so I can keep a constant speed or even accelerate the oversteer is less of an issue. However if I have to lift at all through a slalom I really have to be careful I don't start a race between the front and rear of my car. Also, I have to be very careful to brake in a perfectly straight line or the rear comes out.

I am saving up for suspension mods/tires for next year. What can I do suspension wise to help save me from my driving mistakes? Would a stiffer front swaybar help?

Thanks
Don
Old 06-12-2006, 02:57 PM
DakarM

suspension wont help with bad driving/or driving mistakes. for a beginner you should not be lifting when going through a slalom. as you get better you can actually lift to help the rear end rotate around faster.

it sounds to me like you are over driving the car.
LCD Squad #0001
Originally Posted by WiLL
...I really wanna get out and shoot people.
Old 06-12-2006, 03:48 PM
parkerfly

it sounds to me like you are over driving the car
No arguments here. Had an event yesterday and my fast time of day I did on a clean run without screeching the tires, was pretty happy about that. Just have to learn the limits of the car and how it handles. Seems like seat time is the best way to get better at that. There is a novice driving school in July that I'm signed up for, figure I'll get lots of good info there too.