Notices

New to Hondas, former VW owner

Old 10-05-2003, 05:19 PM
AllyTron

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Hondas, former VW owner

Hey guys, newbie here, not only to the boards, but to Hondas as well (previously owned 3 different generations of the VW Jetta.) I just have a few questions regarding the brand that I'm hoping some of you will entertain. I know a little about Honda/Acura topics but when it comes to technical stuff, I'm clueless. Here are my stupid questions:

Am I correct in assuming that since the 3rd generation Integra (maybe even the previous generations as well) was based off the same platform as the 6th gen Civic, the RSX is based off of the 7th gen Civic platform?

Out of curiosity, I have no knowledge of how easily compatible and interchangeable the engine/suspension components are for the Civic and the RSX, but is transplanting the RSX's 2-liter engine into a Civic a pain? (Not that I'll ever have the money to do so, heh.)

Again, out of curiosity, has anyone ever somehow shoehorned an Accord V6's engine into a 7th gen Civic?

Is the 6th gen Civic Si's 1.6-liter 4-banger (which I do know is related to the Del Sol engine) related to the other engines offered in the 6th gen line-up? (Essentially, is the Si's engine block the same, and if so, what sets it apart?) Is the 7th gen Civic's engine based off the same design as the 6th's or is it a completely different engine altogether? (Sorry, the bulk of my knowledge is saturated with 1.8T's, VR6's, and such, doh!)

My 03 Civic Coupe EX came with 185 / 65 R15 tires which I think are waaaaaaay skinny (The wheels look like they're the ones that were on the 6th gen Si, are they the same width?) Would getting 195 / 60 R15 tires, the same size as the current Si, pose a problem for the speedometer, as in giving me the wrong reading? Are my wheels the same width as the current Si's?

Thanks for any answers in advance, these boards seem pretty cool
Old 10-05-2003, 06:07 PM
white_n_slow