Notices

Am I risking my safety with inexpensive coilovers?

Old 03-30-2003, 11:55 AM
SilverLining

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Am I risking my safety with inexpensive coilovers?

I got a pair of matrix coilovers on ebay for $100. I am not very experienced in modifying my car and did not think twice about ordering them since I thought that is what they go for. Now I came to find out that coilovers can go for as high as $1000 plus! I basically want them for the look. I don't go over 80 miles per hour on any given day so I'm not looking for extreme performance or anything. However, is there a safety concern with the cheaper coilovers? anyone ever have a bad experience with cheap coilovers?
Old 03-30-2003, 12:35 PM
AcsRcool
Faster than your Geo

100 is way too cheap for a quality product, either that or someone screwed up. Usually even just a decent set of springs can be 200. Dont worry too much about 1000 dollar coilovers. Those are full coilovers where the spring and shock come as one unit. The coilovers you bought are likely the condom variety with a set of sleeves, springs, and stops. You can likely mate them to any set of shocks you would like. I wouldnt recommend using your stock shocks to do it depending on the drop height. Really, you are probably better off selling them and getting a decent set of eibachs or H&R springs.
Old 03-30-2003, 02:14 PM
AKUFC
PANIC NOW!!!

you will need shocks cause your stock struts will blow....
Old 03-31-2003, 06:34 AM
VRGNCD5
cause it's tight!

I wouldn't say ur risking ur safety, but ur comfort is definitely gonna be affected. I had some Matrix coilovers on my EF sedan w/Tokico blues and that shit was bouncy as hell man, I had to take them on in a weeks time, I couldn't deal with it. I ended up just getting some H&R Race coils w/my blues and it was cool while it lasted, it got stolen and stripped 4 months later
Old 03-31-2003, 07:31 AM
immalooser

You'll only be risking your safety if you don't install it correctly.