Notices

Brake pads DIY project?

Old 09-21-2008, 06:23 AM
tony1b2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake pads DIY project?

Hi,

I have a 98 32 TL. Just wondering how difficult it is to replace the brake pads and rotors? I am not a mechanic, just a contractor so I do know how to use some tools. Is this a DIY project? One front brake is squeaking from the wear indicator.

Thanks,
Old 09-21-2008, 03:30 PM
AcuraTL
Lord Vader Moderator

It is pretty straight forward but it depends on how comfortable you are with bleeding the brake fluid lines. If you have never done it before or do not have anyone helping that have experience, I would recommend you not do it on your own.
Comptech Icebox, Headers, Exhaust, Lowering Springs and Sway Bars. Mugen front grille. Inspire tailamps. MOMO Sport 18 X 7.5 +42 offset. Axxis Metal Master front/rear pad. 2 Polk/MOMO 10" subs, Orion Xtreme 500.4 amplifier and Alpine CD changer.

Old 09-24-2008, 08:57 AM
Lawrence Coppar

If you do take it on yourself, be advised that the brakes will not work properly until they become seated. In other words, don't go charging off and expect the brakes to work well at all until they become seated and there is material exchange between the rotor and pad.