Notices
Engine Swaps, Tech & Tuning Swaps, N/A Performance, Forced Induction, Engine Management, & Troubleshooting

Replacement of Ball Joints

Old 08-30-2005, 08:40 PM
20civic00ex

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacement of Ball Joints

I'm not sure if I'm posting this message in the right place, but here goes... I have a 2000 Civic and I just found out that the ball joints need to be replaced because they are completely worn out. Has anyone had this done and can possibly enlighten me as to this process? I'm a weekend driver so I don't understand how this could be, but I guess after 5 years some things wear out. Also, what is the normal cost for such work? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 08-30-2005, 10:17 PM
Provocateur
On permanent hiatus

You will need to pull the hub off and then either press the balljoint out or hammer it out and then press or hammer the new one in.

Seems kind of fishy to me that after 5 years they would be bad already. Mine were much older and still in good shape (minus the torn boot). What symptoms have you observed that suggest that they have gone bad?

I have no idea on the cost, but it isn't a very easy job to do yourself.
Old 08-31-2005, 03:20 AM
20civic00ex

I will not be doing this work myself that's for sure. A friend of mine took it in to get maintenance while I was away and that's how it was discovered. Something about the mechanism is touching metal to metal because whatever cushion is between is completely worn, which can cause bending if not tended to. Also, apparently the car tends to lean to one side when you let go of the steering wheel and this I (now) noticed. (Sorry that I'm not more knowledgeable on this topic and I don't speak for all women, but I'm not that well versed when it comes to cars and I guess that's why I've sort of neglected my car some...) :hsdunno:

Thanks for any info. you can provide.
Old 08-31-2005, 06:49 AM
pomansouth

Originally Posted by 20civic00ex