Notices

Going turbo...will the B18B handle it?

Old 05-30-2005, 09:14 PM
Jo3f1sh
waiting for boost...

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going turbo...will the B18B handle it?

Well, here's the thing...the bottom end is a B18B, but my head is off of a Type R B18C. I was told the bottom end was rebuilt, but even so, i'm just curious if the internals will handle higher revs and even boost. My fuel and ignition setup is perfect for adding a turbo, but i'm just afraid i'll hear a bang in the very near future with forced induction.

Anyone else have a B18B pushing a turbo? hanging in there well? Any info is appreciated. Sorry, i'm new to the Integra scene...
Old 05-30-2005, 09:51 PM
Provocateur
On permanent hiatus

Originally Posted by Jo3f1sh
Well, here's the thing...the bottom end is a B18B, but my head is off of a Type R B18C. I was told the bottom end was rebuilt, but even so, i'm just curious if the internals will handle higher revs and even boost. My fuel and ignition setup is perfect for adding a turbo, but i'm just afraid i'll hear a bang in the very near future with forced induction.

Anyone else have a B18B pushing a turbo? hanging in there well? Any info is appreciated. Sorry, i'm new to the Integra scene...
The only way to really be sure is with a compression and leakdown test to make sure everything is in good order.

How is your fuel and ignition setup perfect for turbo? Are you running a standalone ECU, 440cc injectors, upgraded ignition system, higher volume fuel pump, etc, etc?

As long as your engine shows good compression/leakdown numbers before you boost and then you have it tuned with a reliable method, you shouldn't have any problems at all.
Old 05-30-2005, 09:58 PM
shabacash
I'M SO JDM, I HAVE SARS

how much of an advantage is it to boost on an obd1 compared to an obd2, cuz i really dont want to deal with nonsence when it comes to that time of the year.
Old 05-30-2005, 10:33 PM
Provocateur
On permanent hiatus

Originally Posted by shabacash