Notices

Replacing frt discs and pads doable by myself?

Old 08-22-2002, 12:26 PM
Dr. Reef

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing frt discs and pads doable by myself?

I installed all my performance springs and shocks myself, and it sucked, but I finished it in a day.

I am concerned about DIY my brakes though because I'm not very good at bleeding brakes, and I don't want to worry about whether I did a fair job or not.

Is this an easy procedure, replacing discs and pads?

I've got Brembo OEM brakes and pads, and I'm afraid if I take it to Honda and have them install them, they'll be like, "whatever kid" and take my **** home with them and just give me HONDA parts.

Or, they will overcharge me on labor since they won't be able to sell me any of their stock products. Fu$kers.

What do you think?
Old 08-22-2002, 12:53 PM
SumAccordGuy94
Older Honda Fanatic

most places wont install parts that you provide...

Its an easy job though, and no bleeding of the brakes is required... thats only if you take a brake line off.

what year accord do you have??

the 90-93's are a little difficult to change the rotors... but the other model years are easier.

get the car up in the air securely and take the wheels off (whatever brakes you are doing) On the back side of the caliper there are 2 17mm bolts that have to be removed to get the rotors off. Sometimes there are screws or bolts that hold the rotor on that need to be taken off. The rotor will come off and you can slide the new ones on... then install your new pads, you have to push the piston back in either with a pry bar or a "piston pusher" thingy (they can usually be rented from auto parts stores) and you can put the caliper back in place, bolt it on and put your wheels on... its really pretty easy.
Old 08-22-2002, 01:05 PM
Dr. Reef

Sorry, I failed to mention I'm working on a 1999 4cyl coupe.