Notices

DIY Belt replacement.

Old 03-24-2004, 09:33 AM
TOH22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY Belt replacement.

Hey guys.,

New guy here. Ex VW owner (actually the wife still has one).

I just bought my 5th gen h22 lude on Saturday for a low price knowing that I might need to have the belt changed.

I called the dealer and was quoted 800cd. (about 600USD) to have the belt and tensioner replaced, he also said that the crank seal may have to be replaced as well if you do the work (not sure what that means) I know V-Dubs pretty well but I know little about the H22.

I was wondering how hard it would be to change the belt and tensioner myself, I'm not a mechanic but I do play around with my car once in a while and probably have any tools required. (I would probably get the bentley manual - but if you guys think its too hard then I might not even bother).

Thanks in advance for any help/ suggestions.
Old 03-25-2004, 07:46 AM
BigLew

It's not too hard just time consuming, also might as well change out the water pump while you are at it. The best manual you can get is a Helm manual, they are the factory/dealership tech manuals.

You will probably need a pulley holder to hold the crank pulley in place while breaking torque on the crank pulley bolt. Also it's pretty cramped, there are gonna quite a few times you are working by feel.
Old 03-25-2004, 07:25 PM
ludeboom

yea its a job.

i found it easier to pull my motor and do the clutch and T-belt together.
then again, its easier for me to pull the motor because ive done it about 6 times now.

either way.
tools wise you will need a TQ wrench, and several other metric sizes between 10mm and 19mm.

u will need to remove most engine components/brackets/belts/hoses/mount etc. from that side of the motor.

to replace it you need the new belt and new tensioner at least. although i agree with biglew on the waterpump.

get the helms from here