Notices
Engine Swaps, Tech & Tuning Swaps, N/A Performance, Forced Induction, Engine Management, & Troubleshooting

Cam Degreeing on Vtec

Old 07-30-2006, 02:27 PM
widro007

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Degreeing on Vtec

Hey I need to know how to degree cams in on a B17A1 92 Gsr integra. I have never done this before and would like to know how. If anyone can explain clearly how to do this please write back thanks
Old 07-30-2006, 04:01 PM
Provocateur
On permanent hiatus

You need cam gears and a dyno. If you don't have either of them, you can't do it. Also, cam timing won't do anything if you are using stock cams.
Old 07-30-2006, 05:42 PM
widro007

I have skunk2 stage two and have cam gears. I just need to know how to read the cam card and how to degree the cams in. One other thing is this is the first Vtec we have messed around with, adjusting the valves, is it done the same way as the nonvtecs,because of the different lobes just wondering if it is different.
Old 07-30-2006, 06:02 PM
Provocateur
On permanent hiatus

Originally Posted by widro007
I have skunk2 stage two and have cam gears. I just need to know how to read the cam card and how to degree the cams in. One other thing is this is the first Vtec we have messed around with, adjusting the valves, is it done the same way as the nonvtecs,because of the different lobes just wondering if it is different.
The cams are adjusted on a dyno to see if your adjustments are doing anything beneficial for the powerband. Start by advancing the intake cam a few degrees. It will make the idle more lopey and will help out bottom to mid range power without much sacrifice to the top end. Don't get too extreme with this as it will bring the pistons and valves closer together. After that, try retarding the exhaust cam a few degrees and see what gains that will give you. It will also lope the idle and add some mid range power.