Notices
Do It Yourself This is where you will find step by step instructions so you can Do it Yourself!

DIY 6th gen Civic suspension

Old 11-25-2004, 12:32 PM
chimchim
WRX cuz Honda won't wagon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY 6th gen Civic suspension (56k death)

Ok, here's my DIY changing a suspension on a 1997 Civic EX (6th gen). I'm not a professional mechanic, I just read the Helms manual and talked to a mechanic friend and read up like crazy on the net. Any mechanics out there, please feel free to correct me.

I also feel like a lot of DIY tend to gloss over details that end up taking the most time... like "put this bolt back on" actually can take a long time because there's some important details being left out.

I'll be doing this in sections. First, the removal and disassembly of the front suspension.

1) Make sure the parking brake is on. Jack up the car and put them on jack stands for safety. Block off the rear tires so prevent the car from rolling.

Problem: how do you get the jack stands on the supports and jack it up? Jack up the car at the tow loops (two) located below the bumper.

(PIC TBD)

2) Remove the wheel. This is a pic of the wheel well. (Please shut up about my dirty a$$ car )

3) Loosen and remove this bolt at the bottom of the fork arm (my index finger it touching it, hard to see). This is to release it from the lower constrol arm that the axle,hub,wheel connect to. You'll need a 17mm socket wrench, and a 17mm crescent wrench to hold the nut on the other side. Once the nut is off, you may need to use a rod or another long bolt to push the bolt out. On mine, the LCA wanted to move up wards; which is what made removing the bolt difficult. Some downward force on the brake rotor made it easy to pull out.