Notices
Do It Yourself This is where you will find step by step instructions so you can Do it Yourself!

Multimeter

Old 10-16-2005, 09:25 AM
civicburner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Multimeter

Anyone ever use one of these? I want to buy one so I can test for short circuits, open circuits, the battery, alternator and whatever else I can use it for. Is a basic one 15 range multimeter from radioshack good enough or do I need something with more range?
Old 10-18-2005, 01:20 AM
Inacurals
Honda Hoar

thats reaLLY all you need bro. if you know a lil about electrical theyre easy to use too.
Old 10-18-2005, 03:07 AM
bluetwo
Relevance is irrelevant

That should be fine. I'm no electrician but I don't think you need an expensive one unless you are a serious electrical person.
Old 10-18-2005, 09:49 AM
JimBlake

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Mostly you get what you pay for. I have a $20 radioshak small DMM that closes into a little case. The auto-range responds slowly, & the display isn't too big. It can't measure very big current & it's not super accurate. But if I lay it on the garage floor & step on it, I'm not gonna cry about destroying a $200 meter.

I've also got a $220 Fluke 179. The display on the Fluke has a bargraph so I can watch stuff that's erratically changing, and even the digital display is WAY faster than the RS. It's no substitute for an oscilloscope, but the little meter would only display meaningless confusion. It's also bigger, it's not something I'm gonna carry around everywhere. Plus, I bet it would survive being dropped on the floor. Maybe not if I stepped on it...

I like the Fluke way better. But if I didn't have the $$$ to buy something like that, there's very few things I couldn't measure with the RS. You don't need the RANGE on a car, but the accuracy is nice.

$35 for this one...
http://mcm.newark.com/NewarkWebComme...KU=72-2050&N=0

$300 for this...
http://mcm.newark.com/NewarkWebComme...KU=105-555&N=0
Old 10-18-2005, 03:22 PM
S4gunn